in 2020

In 2020, ICARDA was thrilled for our staff, partners, and students to win several prestigious awards for their research and fieldwork. Here is a list of our 2020 highlights:
  • Dr. Badabate Diwediga, a former PhD student and early-career scientist supervised by ICARDA staff (Quang Bao Le), won the World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of sciences in developing countries – 2020 TWAS – Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award

  • Dr. Ashutosh Sarker received the “ISPRD Excellence Award” conferred by the Indian Society of Pulses Research and Development for his outstanding contribution in the field of “Pulses Research and Development” during the International Conference in February 2020 in India. 

  • Dr. Vinay Nangia was selected to serve as an expert on the UN Commission to Combat Desertification (UNCCD) Intergovernmental Working Group on Drought. 

  • ICARDA’s Dr. Shiv Kumar was Elected Chair of the Scientific Program Committee of the International Food Legume Research Conference (IFLRC-VIII) to be held in Kenya in 2022.

  • Dr. Vinay Nangia was invited to join the Scientific Advisory Board of the Global Institute for Water, Environment, and Health (GIWEH – a Geneva-based water think tank).

  • Dr. Chandrashekhar Biradar was selected as an expert member of EcoAgriculture, Indian Council of Food and Agriculture (ICFA), apex body of the Indian Chamber of Food and Agriculture serving the agriculture sector in India and the global platform for partnerships. 

PDF Report